Daytripping

 

 

DAYTRIPPING

 

With summer just around the corner, now is the perfect time to plan for a day or a weekend away with your little one(s)!  Whether it is a fun ride with family to lull an infant to sleep in the car seat or an adventure with preschoolers, there are many local attractions nearby! 

 

  1.  Take a ride through the covered bridges of Pennsylvania to absorb some history for the adults and soothe infants into a peaceful slumber. Visit the Bucks County Covered Bridge Society to plan your route:  buckscountycbs.org
  2. Enjoy the display of flowers, trees, fountains and architecture at Longwood Gardens.  Late summer is ideal to take advantage of the sites in full bloom.  www.longwoodgardens.org
  3. Collect seashells, soak up the sun, enjoy the amusement rides and games, and check out the aquarium at Jenkinson’s pier in Point Pleasant, New Jersey. www.jenkisons.com
  4. For a quick ride, check out Kids Castle, an amazing playground located in Doylestown, PA. www.savekidscastle.org
  5. Is your little one obsessed with cars, and trucks, and things that go?  Check out Diggerland, the only construction theme & water park amusement complex in West Berlin, NJ-just 20 miles from Philadelphia!  www.store.diggerlandusa.com
  6. Love to explore nature?  Check out Churchville Nature Center, an environmental area of 65 acres in a nature preserve. www.churchvillenaturecenter.org
  7. Keeping in the same vein, check out Stony Brook-Millstone Watershed in New Jersey, a 265 square mile area crossing 5 counties.  www.thewatershed.org
  8. Adult libations paired with a petting zoo are available at ShadyBrook Farm during their Friday night, “Music on the Patio” series.  www.shadybrookfarm.com
  9. Looking for a “pick your own” farm experience, check out Terhune Orchards, a 250 acre sustainable farm in Princeton, NJ. www.terhuneorchards.com
  10. For the animal lovers, check out the llama farm & events at Woodsedge Farm in Stockton, NJ.  www.woodsedge.com
  11. Animals, farming, and history prevail at Howell Farm in Lambertville, NJ.   Check out their events at www.howellfarm.org/calendar  Sheep shearing, corn planting, and hog slopping are some of the upcoming events.  
  12. For the art lovers, check out the Crayola Factory in Easton, PA.  This is one of 5 locations throughout the US. www.crayolaexperience.com
  13. To accommodate the youngest to the eldest in your group, try American Dream, an amazing mall  in East Rutherford, NJ.   This state-of-the art complex offers mini golf, an aquarium, indoor surfing, Nickelodeon Universe Theme Park, indoor ski resort, Legoland, water park, ice skating rink, and more!  www.americandream.com  
  14. For the blossoming engineer, check out Legoland Discovery Center in Philadelphia.  www.legolanddiscoverycenter.com/philadelphia
  15. Animal lovers can enjoy a trip to the Philadelphia Zoo.  www.philadelphiazoo.org
  16. For the tactile-kinesthetic explorer, try the Please Touch Museum, a museum designed specifically for children to allow them to play with purpose and use their imagination.  www.pleasetouchmuseum.org
  17. An amusement park specifically designed for small children is Dutch Wonderland in Lancaster, PA.  www.dutchwonderland.com
  18. For those learning about nursery rhymes and classic children’s characters, a great day out may be had at Storybook Land in Egg Harbor Township, NJ.  www.storybookland.com
  19. Looking to get some energy released indoors, try Playpad, Bucks County’s 5,000 square foot indoor play space for children up to age 9.  www.playpadbucks.com
  20. Sesame Place is always a great day out that is close to home in neighboring Langhorne, PA.  www.sesameplace.com

 

This is just a small glimpse of the many things that our area has to offer.  Whether you have one of these destinations in mind, an alternate destination, or just taking a ride in the country, spending time engaging with your child/dren is a great way to support social-emotional learning and create bonds to last a lifetime. 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.